Dickies Workwear

Stapleford and Mackenzie share the Snetterton spoils in the Dickies British Supersport Championship

Stapleford and Mackenzie share the Snetterton spoils in the Dickies British Supersport Championship

Reigning champion Luke Stapleford and Tarran Mackenzie shared the victories in two hard-fought contests at Snetterton, but James Westmoreland still holds a slender lead of six points at the top of the Dickies British Supersport standings.

Staplefordslowly closed in on Tarran Mackenzie and put his bike into the lead on lap 5It was pole man Mackenzie who took the holeshot in the Sprint race, but a dramatic opening lap saw the Nissan GT-R Safety Car deployed after a number of crashes. Mackenzie’s lead was slowly chipped away by the returning Stapleford, who put his Profile Triumph into the lead on lap five.

Continuing to set fastest lap after fastest lap, Stapleford claimed the win by 3.832s ahead of Mackenzie. A last lap collision between third place Ben Currie and fifth place Luke Jones saw David Allingham take his debut rostrum of the season. 

Tarran Mackenzie took his second win of the season in dramatic fashion in the Feature race. Saturday race winner Stapleford took an early lead, just ahead of Mackenzie and Andy Reid, but a mistake from the wildcard rider saw him run on and drop back through the field.

With the remaining duo swapping places at the front, disaster struck Reid who was forced to retire on lap 11, handing Mackenzie a three second lead over Stapleford who had climbed back up to a podium position.

Despite increasing pressure from Stapleford during the closing stages, Mackenzie was able to hold on to take the victory, with Bradley Ray taking his first podium of the season in third. Championship leader Westmoreland secured ninth place.

Along with Mackenzie and Stapleford taking a share of the spoils in first and second place, Bradley Ray managed to secure his first podium of the season in third place

Dickies British Supersport Championship, Snetterton, Sprint race:
    1    Luke Stapleford (Profile Racing Triumph)
    2    Tarran Mackenzie (Stauff Connect Academy Kawasaki) +3.832s
    3    David Allingham (EHA Racing Yamaha) +7.648s
    4    Brad Ray (FAB-Racing Yamaha) +9.671s
    5    Andrew Irwin (Team Appleyard Macadam Racing Yamaha) +10.575s

Dickies British Supersport Championship British Supersport Championship, Snetterton, Feature race:
    1    Tarran Mackenzie (Stauff Connect Academy)
    2    Luke Stapleford (Profile Racing Triumph) +0.217s
    3    Brad Ray (FAB-Racing Yamaha) +2.831s
    4    Mason Law (Gearlink Kawasaki) +6.238s
    5    Luke Jones (Acumen Industrial Services Triumph) +6.682

Dickies British Supersport Championship standings
    1    James Westmoreland (CAME BPT Yamaha) 124
    2    Tarran Mackenzie (Stauff Connect Academy Kawasaki) 118
    3    Andy Reid (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) 103
    4    Luke Jones (Acumen Industrial Services Triumph) 94
    5    Joe Francis (CAME BPT Yamaha) 75